Free Computer Resources

Free Computer Resources

From David Goldfield’s Blog

Free Computer Resources

One of the phone meetings of the Philadelphia Computer Users’ Group for the Blind and Visually Impaired discussed various resources available to obtain free technical help. I compiled a list of the resources which I use and ones which were mentioned by other callers. I am placing it on this Web site for anyone who might find it of some value.

Microsoft Disability Help Desk– 800 936-5900  https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/answerdesk/accessibility

Apple Accessibility Help– 877 204-3930  — email: mailto:accessibility@apple.com

Chicago Lighthouse Helpdesk  —  screen readers including NVDA, Daisy book players, notetakers — 888 825-0080

Freedom Scientific (JAWS, MAGic, OpenBook, Focus, Pac Mate, various magnifiers and Plextalk Pocket) — (727) 803-8600

JAWS Technical Support Page http://www.freedomscientific.com/Support

JAWS Users Mailing Lists http://www.freedomscientific.com/Support/UserGroups

JAWS Headquarters http://www.freedomscientific.com/JAWSHQ/JAWSHeadquarters01

Android Access (online community) www.androidaccess.org

AI Squared- Zoomtext and Window-Eyes — (802) 362-3612

Window-Eyes Online Support (including knowledge base and mailing lists) —  http://www.gwmicro.com/support/

NVDA — English users’ mailing List –  To join the users’ list, send a blank email to: mailto:nvda-request@freelists.org with the word “subscribe” in the subject line. www.nvaccess.org

Humanware – 800 722-3393

Verizon Wireless Help for consumers with disabilities (888) 262- 1999,  http://www.verizonwireless.com/support/accessibility-faqs/#vgnEnd

AT&T 866-241-6568  http://about.att.com/mediakit/disability

Sprint  http://www.sprint.com/landings/accessibility/vision.html

American Printing House for the Blind (Bookport Plus)  800 223-1839

Freelists (various discussion groups or mailing lists) http://www.freelists.org/lists.html

Yahoo Groups (mailing lists)  https://groups.yahoo.com/neo

Google Groups (mailing lists) https://groups.google.com/forum/#!overview

Microsoft Community For help with Windows, Office and other Microsoft products http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us

Applevis (for all things Apple)  www.applevis.com

MacForTheBlind www.macfortheblind.com

Access Technology Institute (to purchase training textbooks and online training classes) http://www.blindtraining.com/

Comcast email accessibility@comcast.com  phone 855-270-0379 www.comcast.com/accessibility

All Hotkeys Keyboard Shortcuts www.allhotkeys.com

KeyXL  keyboard shortcut list www.keyxl.com

Shortcut World hotkey list www.shortcutworld.com

Blind Geek Zone  www.blind-geek-zone.net

VIP conduit voice Chat with others online www.vipconduit.com

For the People Another voice-chat site, may be a good resource for online help www.for-the-people.com

Accessible World Offers various conferences online, including Tek Talk where products are demonstrated http://accessibleworld.org/archives/tek-talk-archives



Font Resize
Contrast